the Hereafter

The Hereafter trilogy is based on the mythology of ancient Sumer. Most of the characters are the Gods and Goddesses of that era. I add a couple of new ones. There are also some real-life adventures sprinkled throughout the stories. I’ll leave it to you to figure out which is which. Best of luck with that.

It’s okay for you to think of me as a fictional character in a series of books, comics, and graphic novels.

Mature Content Warning:

contains adult-themed topics, including:

   graphic sex

  graphic violence

  unacceptable behavior

Getting a Grip

Zoe rose to her feet and turned away from me. I thought she was about to leave, but she remained there, to await my comments or commands, and wipe tears from her face. I cleared my throat. “Zoe, I’ll need a drink. Is there any beer available that doesn’t have some cockamamie side effects?”

“Not on your life, mister!” She turned halfway toward me and gave me an impish grin. She looked quite fetching.

“Well, then…I’ll leave it to you to bring something strong and tasty, and hopefully with no side effects that might cause me harm tonight.”

“Be right back!” she perked up and pivoted away, stepped into the clouds and reappeared almost immediately.

“Here,” she handed me a bottle with one hand, and a glass with the other. “I decided that maybe tonight we shouldn’t take unnecessary risks with you, so I brought you some delicious Brandy. I hope you don’t mind.”

“Zoe, you are a living doll! Thanks so much.” I reached for the offerings.

“It gives me great pleasure to serve you well, m’lord,” she said, her eyes a-glow.

“I need time to ponder my fate and future here, Zoe,” I told her. “I do not wish to be disturbed, and I’ll be in much better shape tomorrow, I’m sure. Please return to your duties now, and ask everyone to leave me alone, in the kindest way you can manage.”

“Yes, m’lord!” she turned and departed. But returned almost immediately. Again. “I have a message for you, from Marduk.”

She handed me a card. I thanked her as she departed.

“Clouds!” I called aloud, “Get me to my bedroom.”

Upon arrival, I made myself comfortable in the bed, with a glass half-full and the bottle of extremely wonderful, old brandy within reaching distance. I’d normally want a book to keep me company at a time like this, but I closed my eyes, let my back sink into the pillows I’d piled up at the head of the bed, and closed my eyes, the glass of brandy at rest on my belly, both hands around it.

Things had been a bit overwhelming for me since I arrived here. I needed time to sort out what was happening and figure out how I fit into this realm. I let my mind drift a bit and sipped at the brandy.

After a while, I felt someone climb into the bed with me and tug at the glass of brandy until it came free.

I was a little disappointed and a little pleased to have some company. I opened my eyes to discover Autonomia – who’s insistence that she become another concubine/daughter to me was one of the topics I wished to think about that evening.

“Hello, dear,” I tried to casually greet her. “You’re naked!” I couldn’t help but observe.

“You are, too!” She tried not to sound too excited about it and sipped at the Brandy.

We sat quietly for a while, and she nuzzled her way under one of my arms. She always smells so nice. I rested my face atop her head.

“You need to either dismiss Savannah as your concubine or take me as a concubine, too.” She informed me.

“I just don’t get the daughter/concubine thing…” I pondered aloud.

“You are married to two of the sexiest Goddesses, ever!” she reminded me. “And your future…” she shook her head.

“Just because we’re your daughters doesn’t mean we don’t deserve to have you as a lover.” She took a deep draw from her glass. “I bet we love you more than any of those Others do!”

I couldn’t really argue with her. I wasn’t in the mood for any such confrontation at the moment. We sat in silence for a while. She took another sip of her drink.

“Ummm,” she cooed. “I enjoy Brandy so much…it gives me a warm, pleasant feeling inside…”

I took the glass from her hand and refilled it almost to the top, handed it back to her, then set the bottle on my stomach.

“…just like you!” she finished her thought.

I was not amused. She implied that we were already lovers. I had no such memories. I’d remember, I’m sure.

“Since when have we…” I began to ask. She cut me off.

“How about you close your eyes?” she requested as she pried the Brandy out of my hands. She set it down beside her glass.

“Just relax,” she instructed me, “and close your eyes.”

I could feel her body heat as she hovered above me. I felt her moving around on the bed a bit, but I dutifully kept my eyes closed. She leaned forward and very lightly kissed my temples. She allowed her breasts to just scarcely glide over my shoulders and chest. She continued teasing me like that for a few seconds, then I felt her gently straddle my hips and begin to take me into her. It was like nothing…I’d…ever…

Hey!” I suddenly realized. “That was YOU?!?” I was all but completely dumbstruck.

“Yup!” she chirped as she settled onto me and slid her arms behind my shoulders. Her face came to rest along my neck.

“Mmmm…” she slightly moaned as she shook all over.

I’d had similar experiences before, but always considered them to be sweet, sexy dreams.

I could not see anyone present back then, for one thing. And I could scarcely feel anyone else’s presence, until she took me in. After the first such incident, I’d just relax and surrender to the moment.

“Ummm,” she cooed into an ear. “You’re my favorite lover! It’s always so intimate with you, so lovingly sweet!” She took another deep breath and shuddered again. I reluctantly gave myself over to the encounter and immediately came.

Autonomia squealed and kicked her feet up and down a little before she settled down and let her weight rest on me.

“I always thought that was your mother’s doing…” I began to explain.

“Hush!” she scolded me. “Don’t think of other women when we’re alone like this.”

“My bad!” I apologized, somewhat.

“I can’t really think of any reason for not having you as a concubine, considering we’ve already been lovers,” I realized.

“There’s a good man!” she congratulated me.

“Darling,” I further elucidated, “my personal stance on such matters has been, is now, and always will be – give the Goddess what she wants.” Then rolled over on top of her. She was totally right. Being with her was more sweetly intimate than anything I’d ever experienced. We really love one another a lot. And I mean very, VERY much.

It was also much more satisfying than anything I’d ever experienced. It wasn’t long – comparatively thinking – before I tumbled off her and settled into the bed to drift off to sleep.

When I awoke, I was disoriented for a few seconds, before I remembered where I was. I was in a cuddly mood, though, and was let down to find I was alone again.

My mind returned to the topics I’d wanted to ponder overnight. What to do about Chloe was another. I mean, she’s so agreeable, so pretty, so sweet…and she’s bonded to me, as if I were her mate. And – she’s an alien species, not really like neither Humans, nor the Ancients. But the thought of her in life-long, unrequited love was too much for me to bear. She’ wonderful, I adore her, and she deserves better.

I heaved a huge sigh. “Clouds!” I instructed. “Bring Chloe here. I want her to join me in the shower.” I pushed the pile of blankets on my bed aside and made my way to the shower stall.

“I’m such a man-whore…” I realized.

(Sorry, but I’m not going to relate what transpired when she joined me. She was very happy, and extremely excited. Her and her sister are aliens. They don’t react in ways that necessarily make sense to Humans. Or they do, but extremely exaggeratedly. And their anatomies are just slightly – for the most part – different from ours. It was strange. But pleasurable. Not something I would seek out on my own. And, she became so docile and lovey-dovey when we cuddled afterwards. She didn’t fuss or hesitate when I dismissed her. I had more things to mull over, and she was completely understanding. All in all – it was weird, but sweet. I don’t know how much more of that I really desire, which is okay – she shares a bed with her sister and Tim, so she won’t be totally lonely without my attentions.)

After she disappeared into the clouds, I remembered the note Zoe had given me.

The card informed me that Marduk and his household would be departing after the preceding evening’s formal ball, and Sarpanit and he would enjoy my company as they began their trip back to his Sacred City, Babylon. “How serendipitous!” I thought, and got myself dressed. “I guess I should give him fair warning.”

I had no idea how he was going to react when I told him about my plans to resurrect his little, dead brother. I wanted to continue to be on his good side, though. What I had to say was mostly speculation, but I could find out the actual facts with the help of Nabu. I’m sure he can find out the information I need, if he doesn’t already know. I returned to Ninkasi…no, to OUR bed chamber…to pack some clothes for the trip. I supposed we would take some sort of flying vessel toward Babylon, then set up a camp outside its walls for us visitors.

C’mon – don’t laugh! This camp would be Marduk’s personal, Traveling Royal Palace, and would feature amenities enough to make Fitness Centers, Resorts, Public Hotsprings, Five-star Restaurants and Hotels, Concert Halls, and Sports Facilities all hide their faces and blush in shame, figuratively thinking. I looked forward to spending as much time with Marduk in his Sacred City for as long as he would tolerate me.