the Hereafter

The Hereafter trilogy is based on the mythology of ancient Sumer. Most of the characters are the Gods and Goddesses of that era. I add a couple of new ones. There are also some real-life adventures sprinkled throughout the stories. I’ll leave it to you to figure out which is which. Best of luck with that.

It’s okay for you to think of me as a fictional character in a series of books, comics, and graphic novels.

Mature Content Warning:

contains adult-themed topics, including:

   graphic sex

  graphic violence

  unacceptable behavior

Ki – the Living Embodiment of Life Itself

Ki has changed quite a lot since the Sacred Lovers were revived.

ki – the living embodiment of life itself

She’s a lot more serious-minded, these days. Before, she was all smiles and goofiness. Now, she seems to snarl a lot, and she hasn’t come by for a tumble in a while. I’m kinda anxious to show her one of the luxury suites Ian built for our guests. One of the replicas of Ninkasi’s place in Babylon. With a flowing fountain, which feeds a bathing pool, under a crystal ceiling, supported by columns of Amethyst and Rose Quartz. Seriously – the Goddess of Brewing’s place in Babylon was the ultimate sexy, romantic setting anywhere on Earth, ever.

As the Living Embodiment of Life Itself, Ki was a late-comer to the realm of the Primordial Beings. She and Erishkigal are twin sisters, from what I understand – twin Primordial Beings.

She and her twin sister embody the processes of Life, and the processes of Reclaiming – of taking what is no longer alive, and making it into living matter again.

The two of them just showed up one day, swimming around in their mother, a reiteration of the original Primordial Sea. They were assigned their respective roles by their mother, Nammu – the Primordial Waters. They were quite young when Erishkigal was shipped off to her realm.

Ki is the Embodiment of Life Itself, whereas Ereshkigal is more like the Goddess of Regeneration. Her domain is that Life which reclaims dead things – the processes, things, and creatures that feed upon the dead and make them into nutrients for Living Things. They also break down stuff like rocks, so that they create fertile soil.

Okay – I’ll just go ahead and say it: decay and ruin. Erishkigal’s realm is a domain of decay and ruin. And dust…just…so much dust…

I know I’m over-simplifying things here, but anything more would take much too long to communicate.

What I want you out there to understand now, though, is that Ereshkigal possesses a kind of regal beauty that’s difficult to explain, or even comprehend. Whereas Ki is much more accessibly lovely – she’s very much a Mother Nature type of beauty.

Ki was all kinds of goofy playfulness when I first met her. Quick to laugh, almost always bearing a huge, bright smile, and just very, very joyously playful.

Turns out, she was going insane at the thought that she would soon be dead. She thought everything was going to die along with her. I mean – she’s right. If she dies, Everything dies!

Everygoddamnedthing.

But, when the Sacred Lovers were reunited, they immediately began the task of healing all the Earth’s wounds. They became Monumental, and tower a thousand feet above the Sacred Halls I share with my Goddesses. Nuclear waste, plastic, toxic ponds full of mine tailings – everything taken out of the planet’s innards and either left over from industrial production, or the actual end product of such – the Sacred Lovers are sending it all back to its original places. People who are gifted with Enhanced Sight can watch the elements, minerals, gases, and other stuff drift away from wherever it’s stored or dumped, up into the air, until they’ve floated back to where they came from. They then burrow into the ground, and return to the place they dwelt prior to being mined, poured out, or otherwise removed from their places in the Earth. It’s a steady stream of multi-colored, vague firefly-like matter. And the Sacred Lovers have communicated to us they will continue to do this until everything is back to how it was – 2,000 years ago.

I hope to have their religion restored by then, so that celebrations will greet their return, everywhere they roam: Dummuzi, the Good Shepherd; Inanna, the Fierce Warrior Goddess; and Ninkasi, the Mother Goddess, and Goddess of Beer.

But, to get back to Ki…

In some manner or another, Erishkigal and Ki are related to my wife Eris – the Chaos Goddess.

Before she was smited by Marduk, Eris was a Primordial Being, too – Tiamat. I’m kind of getting the feeling Tiamat was the original Primordial Waters, and that Nammu – Erishkigal and Ki’s watery Mother – was perhaps a leftover remnant of Tiamat. Which would make Erishkigal and Ki sorta Eris’s grandchildren…

This is all a little too mind-numbing to contemplate. Especially because Eris has this Eternal Youth thing going on. She looks like a full-grown woman – like an unbelievably gorgeous woman in her 30s, perhaps…? The twins look to be in their 40s. And very vigorous, healthy…and sexy.

We Mortals have no real understanding about what Primordial Beings are – or were. I’m sure it is beyond our imagination, and too Grand to envision. Eris looks like she could be Erishkigal’s and Ki’s younger, hotter-than-hot sister.

But, what I’m trying to explain here is that Ki undertook a transformation when Inanna, Dummuzi, and Ninkasi were reunited. I think Ki was going insane when we met, and just wanted to have oodles of fun while she was still alive. She thought she was going to die.

Let me emphasize that point: the Embodiment of Life Itself felt like she was doomed. That would mean an end to all life. Anywhere. Everywhere. It was all going to come to an end. And just as it seemed to Ki that all hope was lost, the Sacred Lovers were reunited, and immediately set about to put an end to everything afflicting life here on Earth. That’s the power of Love on a scale far too overwhelming for any Mortal to grasp.

The thing is, Dummuzi, the Male aspect of the trio, had been dead for over 2500 years when I came along. I went to the Great Underworld to bring his soul back to the Upper Realms, where a clone of his body had been created. A very good copy, too. I’ll give the Roman Catholics some credit – they may really suck at Religion, but they can take technology to another level, when it suits their needs. Their Technomancy is unrivaled. Still, no one knew what would happen when Dummuzi’s soul was united with his cloned body.

Ninkasi was infatuated with her dead brother’s clone right away. Much to my consternation. It took her a minute to realize his clone was just not the man she loved – even though he was all but identical to him in most ways.

The two of them – Dummuzi’s soul and his cloned replica – hit it off very well, and when they merged into a single Being, every Being present could feel their combined power pouring out of them.

It enabled the Sacred Lovers to expand their Beings to enormous sizes. And they began to radiate whatever type of energy it is that puts things right again.

There’s a reason why certain technologies are forbidden, and those taboos had been broken, over and over again, over thousands and thousands of years. Not only on Earth, but throughout the Galaxy as well. But, the Sacred Lovers, in their Monumental states emit so much power, it’s felt everywhere it’s needed. Damage to physical reality began to un-do itself, and revert to its original place, shape, and form.

When the Sacred Lover Triad were re-united, the Earth itself began radiating much more intense life-affirming energy than it normally generated. The boost in energy those three produce through their Divine Love is that intense. They are very likely to evolve into a trinary star system at some point. Stuff like that is sometimes mentioned in Mythological tales – wherein the hero and/or heroine of a tale are “honored” by being turned into stars. I believe that is where we go from here, in the development of our souls: we become stars or planets, depending on how much our souls shine when our bodies stop functioning. I’m speculating here, because I won’t know for sure until I’ve given it a go. Apparently, it’s expected of me, since some amongst the Others think of me as their Homecoming King. (Whatever! I didn’t aspire to this. So much. I envisioned no titles for myself – they’ve been bestowed upon me by Others…which – come to think of it – is how all of us get our titles.  The Others tag us with accolades, until one which suits the mood catches on.)

I hope to have their religion restored when they’re finished with their self-appointed task, so that celebrations will greet their return, everywhere they roam: Dummuzi, the Good Shepherd; Inanna, the Fierce Warrior Goddess; and Ninkasi, the Goddess of Beer and Prosperity.

Ninkasi was my self-declared wife, prior to her beloved brother’s resurrection. I had a feeling she would ditch me for the brother she intended to marry, back before he was murdered by their eldest brother, Marduk – the God/Emperor of Babylon.

I felt like I would not exactly suffer without her, though. Not that I don’t love and value her, but she has seemed to be a little remote since she grew a bit during our visit to Babylon. She slapped the shit out me and Marduk. She’s so much stronger now, too. And she’s ridiculously more lovely. She looked like the Avatar of Elegance in her photospread for Divine. Not just because she looks regal as all get-out, but because:

  1.  it suits her,
  2.  she is completely at ease, and
  3.  she seems to be too divine for the likes of just about everybeing. She somehow manages to be completely approachable, and to let one know “You’re not worthy!” at the same time. And she still delights in being The Hostess.

Despite the legendary status the Harvest Hootenanny attained – from its very beginning – I’m certain she will knock ’em dead with her Fall Festivals year after year, for as long as she desires.

I was hoping lots of playful romps with Ki would help keep my mind off Ninkasi, even though she towered above our home.

But, Ki’s changed, and I rarely see her anymore. I believe she is spending time with her kids and peers – the Elder Generations of the Ancients. But, maybe that’s only because I want to believe so.

She tends to look very elegant, these days. Her gowns are still skin-tight, and her body is enough to give one sweet dreams for nights on end, but her dazzling smile is absent. She looks kinda displeased most of the time. She’s been through a lot of shit, and if one asked me, I’d tell them I think there’s some Divine Retribution in the works for some Beings.

When Marduk took Savannah and I to stand before Nibiran Emperor Anu, Ki stood behind his throne, a hundred feet tall. She wore a full-length black dress, with a slit in the skirt, all the way up to the inner curve of her hip, and a deep cleft in front to display her cleavage. It was very clear to see that she wore nothing underneath it. She kept her hands clasped behind her back, and through the entire time of our audience with the Emperor, she stared at Enlil – her first-born son, and maybe later, her husband – like she was about to stomp him. Every time Enlil wanted to interject something into our audience with Emperor Anu, Ki would make an angry face at him, and sometimes take a slightly more hostile stance. Though her motions were subtle, they affected him profoundly. He would suddenly become tongue-tied, or just cut himself short. He was clearly intimidated by her.

Ki isn’t stressed out about the possibility she is going to die these days. I kinda got the feeling she was perhaps a little embarrassed by some of her behavior. Or maybe I just hoped she would be…

What I’m trying to say here is – some of the disdain which exuded from her towering, snarling face was directed at me. Ouch!

She is our mother’s most distant, original ancestor: the origin of all Living Matter.

And WE – ALL that is Living Matter – no matter how big, significant, unknown, unobserved…Everything which carries even the most basic energy of Living Matter, everything with a pulsating heart, everything which senses, everything with an energetic nervous system – no matter how simple nor complex – it’s all ONE THING!

Ki now embodies that One Thing: the Divine Unity of All that Lives.

I wish to take my place by her side. But…like…what the fuck does she even need me for? How does she even Need? See what I’m getting at, here? One of those “Who needs ya?” situations.

I went to her one evening. “My sweet, dear Ki,” I volunteer. We stood on a Mediterranean, rocky island. There was no moon visible in the nighttime sky. The Milky Way exploded across the skies above – so brilliant! Its glow cast shadows.

I’ve waited a while to go to her. I had to get my immediate reaction to her presence somewhat under control before speaking with this newer incarnation. But, you know…we’ve just had crazy, wild sex. And plenty of it. And CRAZY wild! She’s completely uninhibited and fairly spontaneous. Or she used to be. I’m not sure about this version. I’m trying to be as reverent as I can in her presence, rather than just grabbing her and…you know…

“Your countenance has been so stern lately…” I told her, “I no longer see the fun-loving, goofy-sexy playmate I was so much in love with. Tell me what is happening, darlin’, and let me know what I can do to relieve you of what is burdening you so…” I swallowed. My throat felt a little dry.

Ki was puzzled by my words. She looked a little saddened.

“I want you to be free to smile, when you are with those who love you.”

“I am Life Abundant!” she proclaimed. “But there is an upsurge in death approaching. So much suffering, pain, and ruin.” She stiffened her back somewhat. “I’m going to feel it. I’m going to cause some of it.

“That’s not how I am…” She turned away from me. I walked over to where she stood and put my arms around her.

“Make me your vessel!” I suggested to her. I nuzzled the top of her heads with my cheek.

“You know not what you ask, my precious Gaian,” she told me as she stepped forward. She took my hands in hers and spread them apart. She turned, leaned against me, and rested her face on my chest.

I took half a step forward and held her more tightly.

“That is of no concern to me,” I pled with her. “All I want is for you to be able to smile when you come visit us – Ninkasi, Eris, Sarpanit, Nanaya, Savannah, Autonomia, Ereshkigal, Nanshe, Nungal – all my House, and that of Marduk.” I reminded her of everybeing I knew who cherished her above all else.

“It’s just too much for me to ask you to take on all of this yourself.” She pulled her head off me enough to make eye contact. “It will do permanent damage to your soul, my darling”

Her face seemed to soften a bit, but she still exuded a sort of sneer with the expression she wore on her face. I definitely felt the “who needs ya” vibe. Until she slipped her hands around my waist and pulled me close again. Her fingernails slightly dug into my back.

“I will put an end to anything that displeases you, or causes you pain and suffering,” I pledged.

“You’d be more…demanding…than a Reaper…” she warned me. I could feel her tears wetting my chest.

“Point the way, and there I shall reap!” I promised. She held me a bit more tightly. I evaluated my situation a little more, then went on, “I have a feeling I’ve already experienced this pain and heartache.

“And I know both that I can handle it, and that I need it for my soul to grow – to prepare for what’s to come.” I gave her a nice squeeze. She nuzzled into my grasp some more.

“Just don’t abandon my children when you leave,” she pushed herself away from me to wipe her eyes with the backs of her hands.

“Don’t worry, babe,” I reassured her, “I’ll have Autonomia, Savannah, Ninkasi, Nanshe, and possibly Nanaya and Sarpanit as well – all ready to step in to rescue that which needs saving.” I leaned forward and kissed her forehead. “Leave it to us!”

Ki gave me a big smile, took half a step away from me and slapped my ass.

“Don’t say I didn’t warn ya!” she scolded me, then grabbed one of my wrists and spun me around, as she began marching us towards the indoor bedroom. The one with Ninkasi’s ridiculously huge bed in it.

“Come along!” she urged me, “I want you to remind me of this vision of Ki you were in love with.” She turned her head to give me a once-over with her eyes. “I don’t remember you being this b…tall.” She muttered primarily to herself. I’d never heard her stumble over words before. She blushed with embarrassment and her tongue peeked out between her teeth. She even giggled a little.

YEA!